The first review batch

Each time I select a few books to read and review on my blog, I plan on introducing them here before I begin. I’m pretty excited to start these.

First up: A Republic of Wolves. A City of Ghosts by Colin Fisher. The synopsis:

wolvesA woman struggles to survive in the besieged city of Madrid during the Spanish Civil War. It’s 1940 and María lives anonymously in the city which, despite what our history books tell us, has held out for four years and, with American help, may see its long siege lifted. A chance meeting with her son, a soldier in the army of General Franco, in the ruins of the city university will take her from the bombed streets of Madrid to the old Moorish city of Granada. Besieged by the Republican forces, it’s the key to defeating Franco. Its Alhambra Palace in ruins, can she, the awkward Captain Gregorio and a group of Andalusian anarchists uncover the secret Lorca left behind shortly before his own execution in 1936?

Second is The Knife with the Ivory Handle by Cynthia Bruchman. The synopsis:

It is 1900. The story follows the fortunes of two orphan train riders, a black southern man knife 2the two children rescue, and a young priest who has to find his own way into emotional adulthood. From the first train as Annette and Jonathan cross the country to their adopters in Illinois farm country, to the final eruption into riot, fire, and murder in a coal mining town, dramatic tension sustains through alternating points of view. If you love psychological tension fused with plot action, this is the novel for you.

Third and last for this announcement is The Subway Chronicles: More Scenes from Life in New York, by Jacqueline Cangro. The Synopsis:

SubwayJacquelin Cangro is back with more essays from underground New York. In this follow up to The Subway Chronicles: Scenes from Life in New York, all of the tales are her own. From run-ins with subway preachers and the Chinese Curses Lady to Pickles the dachshund to the man whose girlfriend bit his ear off, she documents the hilarious, poignant, and thought-provoking adventure that is the New York City subway. Her original voice chronicles the highs and lows of discovering who you are while living in an indomitable city with a character all its own. Together these essays create a fresh and real portrait of one woman’s attempt to find her own New York.

If you would like me to read and review your book, please check out my policy page and contact me.

 

About TBM

Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI's top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Authors, Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The first review batch

  1. Oooh, those first two really appeal to me. I don’t know about this new blog of yours LOL!! As if I don’t have enough books to read already, and now you are going to tempt me with more new ones :). That’s ok though. You know my motto – I can never have too many books to read!

  2. Congratulations! I feel your joy!

  3. Next time I’m in London, let’s meet at a pub and have a pint. You’re awesome, TBM

  4. Colline says:

    These look like I the resting stories.

    • TBM says:

      I thought they sounded like a fun batch to start with. Each are very different so I won’t confuse the story lines. At least I hope I won’t

  5. I’m honored to be in the first batch of books you mentioned. Thank you! I hope you enjoy reading about the subway. Maybe you can get some good tips for your trip here in August.
    Let me know which one is your favorite essay. 🙂

    • TBM says:

      I’ve been meaning to read your book for some time now. But I’m glad I waited since it seems fitting to have one of my blogging buddies in the first batch for the new blog.

  6. Lucid Gypsy says:

    The Subway Chronicles looks like my kind of read!

    • TBM says:

      I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve met many characters during my visits to NY. And I know from Jackie’s blog I love her writing style.

  7. I read Jackie’s book and loved it. I think you will enjoy it as well.
    It is so cool that you’re giving other writers this platform!

    • TBM says:

      So many authors, editors, and readers have helped me out tremendously during my beginning stages of my writing career. I want to pay it forward.

  8. The Hook says:

    Happy page turning!

Leave a Reply

